If you are accused of operating a vehicle while you are drunk, all sorts of questions may arise. Perhaps you are wondering how your life will change as a result of the charges, such as having difficulty while applying for a job in the future. If you live in Boston, it is vital to understand some of the penalties that you may face in Massachusetts.
According to information published by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, drunk driving charges carry a number of penalties. For starters, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days if you fail a breath test. In addition to losing your driving privileges, you may be sentenced to prison and face stiff financial penalties. For example, you can be sentenced to prison for up to two years for your first or second offense. If you are charged with DUI for a third time, you could spend up to five years behind bars.
Moreover, the financial penalties can be staggering. For a first offense, you could be fined as much as $5,000. However, these penalties increase to as much as $50,000 for a fifth offense. It is also important to think of some of the other ways that these charges could destroy your life. For example, if you lose your ability to drive, you may have trouble getting to work or running errands. As a result, handling these allegations correctly is paramount.
This post is provided for general informational purposes and is not to be taken as a substitute for legal advice.