When someone is pulled over by a law enforcement official and asked to take a breath test, the experience can be nerve-wracking. Many people worry about the consequences that may come with failing a breath test, and whether or not they are over the legal limit. Moreover, there are times when people may be especially concerned about the consequences of failing a breath test, such as a driver who is under the age of 21 years old. When it comes to underage DUI charges, carefully handling the situation is pivotal.
According to the State of Massachusetts, drivers who are under 21 years of age and are determined to have a blood alcohol content level of 0.02 or higher are considered to have been driving under the influence. For younger drivers, this can be an especially difficult position to be in since the legal limit is so much lower in comparison to drivers who are 21 or older. In Massachusetts, young drivers under 21 will have their license or learner's permit taken by an arresting officer. Moreover, drivers will be given a written notification that their license has been suspended and their driving privileges will be revoked for 30 days. Young drivers who wish to appeal the suspension may do so in district court.
In addition to the loss of driving privileges, young drivers may face other consequences also. For example, licenses may be suspended for multiple years, depending on a driver's record. As with all DUI cases, an individual approach is crucial and those facing charges should review all of their options.