Driving in Massachusetts is a privilege, not a right. As a result, failing to obey the laws of the road, including DUI and OUI violations, may lead to a suspension of your license. After you have served your driving ban, your license may not be automatically reinstated. There may be additional steps you need to follow to get your driving privileges back.
According to Mass.gov, you will need to verify your current license status. If you were caught driving since your suspension, more time may have been tacked on, or it may be revoked. If you have served the full time of your suspension, you may also receive information as to what necessary requirements you need to meet for reinstatement.
After this, you will need to pay your reinstatement fee. The actual fee amount depends on the violation that led to the suspension and may start at a low of $100 and go up to a high of $1,200. You may pay your reinstatement fees online or in person.
Many drivers are also surprised to know that they may need to re-take their driving test. Sometimes this is just the permit exam; other times it is the road test. If your suspension lasted for two years or more, you will need to take both tests. If you lost your driving privileges for less than two years, a Registry of Motor Vehicles Hearings Officer may still decide whether or not you need to retake the full exam.
In addition to the driving test, there are classes the RMV may require drivers to take. You may end up taking one or more of these:
- Driver attitudinal retraining
- Youth Alcohol Program (YAP)
- State Courts Against Road Rage (SCARR)
- Drug or alcohol counseling and/or education program
- National Safety Council (NSC)/Massachusetts driver retraining program
Needless to say, reinstating a suspended driver’s license can be a long and expensive process. DUIs and OUIs while inconvenient for some may be potentially fatal for others. As a result, local authorities may go above and beyond what is required to ensure the safety of everyone on the road.
This article shares information provided by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts on reinstating your suspended license and should not be interpreted as legal advice.