According to a 2016 article by Forbes, Massachusetts drivers who operate a vehicle under the influence may face up to 30 months of jail time, a license suspension that can last up to two years and fines totaling $500 to $5000. However, it is not just legal repercussions that make OUI charges especially troublesome. They may also lead to a spike in car insurance premiums and may stay on a driver’s record for years.
Estimates put the insurance spike at about 62% for the first offence. However, some states are considerably higher than this. In North Carolina, for instance, insurance premiums can spike by 368%. This might almost make one grateful for the 65% average spike in Massachusetts.
This percentage spike puts the Bay State firmly at number 20 of the states where drivers can expect the highest rate hikes after a DUI. At this point, experts recommend that drivers with an OUI or DUI on their record should shop around to see if any company might insure them for less.
For these and other reasons, many people try to get the charges dismissed. This may be difficult, but it is not impossible. According to FindLaw, drivers may challenge the validity of the stop and the tests administered. Others may put the burden on the prosecutor to prove whether or not they were in fact driving the car. This last approach may be especially useful in instances where the driver was found in a parked vehicle.
Still, the fact is that there are no guarantees a driver can get a DUI or OUI dismissed. However, if the alternative is a potential 65% hike in auto insurance for years to come and a spoiled legal and driving record, it may not hurt to try.