A Massachusetts conviction for operating under the influence comes at a cost. Even as a first-time OUI offender, you may face as much as a $5,000 fine. There are also other expenses relating to the event, such as bail costs, car impound fees and license reinstatement fees. Your OUI is also going to impact how much you have to pay for car insurance once you start driving again. Knowing how much your insurance rates may rise after an OUI should help you plan and budget accordingly.
According to Insure.com, the typical Massachusetts motorist with a single OUI sees his or her insurance rates increase by an average of 68%.
Determining insurance costs
Car insurance rates are high in Massachusetts even if you have an impeccable driving record. Most state residents with average records pay about $1,616 annually to insure themselves behind the wheel. With an OUI conviction, though, most residents pay about $2,711 a year for insurance, which is $1,095 more per year.
Finding the most manageable rate
Your insurance rates almost always go up after a conviction for drunk driving. However, you may be able to find a more favorable rate by requesting quotes from several different insurers. Each company refers to a unique set of variables when deciding how much to charge you. So, you may find a good deal of variation among insurance premiums offered to you.
If you are unable to find your own car insurance through a private insurance company, you may be able to do so through the Massachusetts Auto Insurance Plan.