If the police arrest you for drunk driving in Massachusetts, you may face fines and incarceration, particularly if you are a repeat offender.
An OUI may result in a suspended license, as well. The length of time will depend on the number of drunk driving convictions that you have.
After a first offense, you can expect to lose your driving privileges for one year. However, you can apply for a hardship license after 90 days.
You may want to pursue an alternative disposition after a first offense. This allows you to reduce your suspension in exchange for completing an approved alcohol program and serving two years of probation.
With each subsequent OUI, the penalties increase significantly. After your second OUI, you will likely lose your license for two years. A third and fourth charge can lead to a suspension of eight or more years. You can apply for a hardship exemption, but you will need to wait multiple years.
After five OUI convictions, Massachusetts will permanently revoke your license.
Other factors can affect whether you lose your driving privileges and for how long. For example, drivers under the age of 21 are subject to longer suspensions.
Additionally, the Registrar of Motor Vehicles will revoke your license for at least 180 days if you refuse a breathalyzer. The length of the suspension will increase for additional offenses.
Losing your license for any length of time can have a huge impact on your life, but you may be able to keep your driving privileges with a strong legal defense.